Doomed (NaPoWriMo Day 23)

Hey guys,
If you’ve seen my previous post you know that I’ve been slacking off. There are still 4 more pieces I have to post, but for right now – here’s today’s poem. The prompt was to write a poem in the POV of a historical figure, and I chose renowned poetess Sylvia Plath. Man, her poetry is wonderful just as it is dark and painfully honest. This poem is short, and is based on the last few moments of her life, before she committed suicide. (She did so by placing her head in an oven, with the gas left on – with all ventilation shut.) I imagine this is what she may have felt like. I’m not sure. I think it’s pretty dark.

Head in an oven
Poison filling lungs
Kids safely tucked away in their rooms
As I continue what I came to do
To put an end to a life
That has always been doomed.

(Picture credits: https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poet/sylvia-plath)

Leave a Reply

