Rain (NaPoWriMo Day 4)

It is Day 4 of NaPoWriMo, and I’m extremely late to post this. But today’s prompt is ‘Rain’. So here’s a small, little poem about what I think of when the heavens decide to pour 🙂 I feel like it’s an unconventional piece of poetry for me to be writing, cause a) I’m wasn’t particularly inspired to write this piece, but I did so as I promised myself I would do my best to participate completely in NaPoWriMo b) The rhyme scheme isn’t very systematic, and since I’ve recently been more involved in slam poetry that somehow doesn’t sit well in the current state of my mind.

But yeah, here it is. Hope you enjoy it, just as much as the rain is a blessing to have -e especially in summer. Especially where I live right now. Please rain?

My first thought is to
get my clothes off the line
My second is to run downstairs
Let my hair down and dance like no one’s watching
To the pitter-patter beat
That somehow makes everything better
And if I’m sad, it’s something that covers my pain
But when I’m happy, I just remain as I am
Soaking in the rain instead of the sun
With a smile on my face
as doing nothing as never been this fun.

(Picture taken from http://nowiknow.com/making-it-rain/)

Leave a Reply

